There’s no denying that Peter Furler has had a big year in 2011 with the release of his debut solo album On Fire. And now, the lead single Reach has topped The Rock Across Australia (TRAA) Top 100 Song Chart nabbing the honor for most played song on Australian Christian radio in the past year.

The former Sunshine Coast singer who now resides in America previously won the award in 2007 for the song Something Beautiful while fronting newsboys, one of the industry’s most successful bands in Christian music.

Furler’s infectious 2011 hit song Reach dominated the top spot on TRAA for eight consecutive weeks, accomplished 30 weeks in the survey, and spent three quarters of its chart life in the Top 10.


Another Aussie, NATHAN TASKER made a triumphant return in 2011 and the first taste of new music came in the form of Something Beautiful (Grace) and Love Is The Compass – the first two singles from his landmark album Home. Both songs landed at #5 and #6 on TRAA’s annual song chart earning Tasker the crown as Artist of The Year – the most played Christian artist of 2011.

Jason Ingram (Ten Avenue North, Rush Of Fools), Rusty Varenkamp (Sanctus Real, Michael W Smith) and Charlie Peacock (Switchfoot, Audio Adrenaline) produced Tasker’s songs.

The Sydney born singer who previously garnered song and artist honors in 2006. He now lives in Nashville, USA.

The Rock Across Australia’s 2011 Top 100 Songs and Top 50 Artists charts are available online:


2009 Song of the Year Get Back Up – tobyMac
Artist of the Year newsboys

2009 Song of the Year Closer To Love – Mat Kearney
Artist of the Year Brandon Heath

2008 Song of the Year This Is Home – Switchfoot
Artist of the Year Britt Nicole

2007 Song of the Year Something Beautiful – newsboys
Artist of the Year newsboys

2006 Song of the Year Like You Love Me – Nathan Tasker
Artist of the Year Nathan Tasker

2005 Song of the Year Gloria (All God’s Children) – Paul Colman
Artist of the Year Bethany Dillon

2004 Song of the Year Beautiful – Bethany Dillon
Artist of the Year Jars Of Clay

2003 Song of the Year (There’s Gotta Be) More to Life – Stacie Orrico
Artist of the Year Stacie Orrico

2002 Song of the Year Purified – Michael W Smith
Artist of the Year Michael W. Smith

2001 Song of the Year These Thousand Hills – Third Day
Artist of the Year Paul Colman Trio

2000 Song of the Year Shackles (Praise You) – Mary Mary
Artist of the Year Paul Colman Trio

1999 Song of the Year There’s No Power in Pity – Cliff Richard
Artist of the Year dc Talk